Snapdragons in the Sun

Summer is a vase of snapdragons backlit by the morning sun.

The show lasts only three or four minutes and is possible only a few days of the year, when the sun rises at a certain angle over the roof of a particular house to the east and sunlight streaks through a specific gap in the branches of the sugar maple to a glass-topped porch table positioned in just the right place.

Also, someone must be sitting at the table looking for something–anything!–to do besides finish her Morning Pages, which were being boring, and a vase of gorgeous flowers must be close at hand along with a working camera that has reasonably fresh batteries (because digital “film” is cheap and 40-some exposures will be made of this particular solar event).

This  year it all came together on July 23 at 7:25 AM. It’s one of my little Stonehenge moments, and I’m grateful I was able to capture it.

© 2012 Anne Bingham and Making It Up as I Go

This entry was posted in Seasonal, The Writing Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Snapdragons in the Sun

  1. Oh. My. That’s breathtaking. Go, Anne! Stonehenge moment, indeed. Bravo! Congratulations on capturing this! Wow… (Can you tell I’m gobsmacked?)

    Like

  2. Mike Starr says:

    A lovely image… reminiscent of Van Gogh. Thank you.

    Like

  3. Sue Knopf says:

    Beautiful and calm.

    Like

  4. vijaya says:

    Gorgeous! And yes, this is why I love the digital camera too … my son would’ve set up time-lapse.

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      Not with my camera he wouldn’t. I keep telling myself I’m going to replace it with a digital SLR, but then the dishwasher catches on fire or somebody splurges on a root canal…

      Like

  5. Marcia says:

    That is gorgeous. To badly paraphrase Charlotte’s Web, there are some experiences distributed only to early risers.

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      I keep trying to get up at 5:30 for even more wonderful experiences, but manage it maybe once a week. It usually has been worthwhile, though, especially during the recent episode of let’s-pretend-it’s-Texas-in-July weather.

      Like

  6. Kristen Ciccarelli says:

    Aw, this is lovely. 🙂

    Like

  7. Mirka Breen says:

    Maybe the transitory nature of it made for a luminous moment. When an object is there and static for a long time it disappears as far as our awareness goes.

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      So true, Mirka! I’ve also spent used some Morning Pages time and paper to sketch one individual snapdragon flower (I’m pretty sure Julia Cameron would approve!). Snapdragons are awfully complicated flowers to sketch so it’s a good discipline; reminds me how magical drawing really is, makes me want to take a drawing class and forget all this writing stuff. Too hard excavating your head all the time. (Seriously, I’m going to look into drawing lessons. Exercising another area of the brain might be just what I need to move the writing along quicker, and a sketchpad costs a lot less than a DSLR.)

      Like

  8. vijaya says:

    Okay, I’ve tried morning pages off and on, but tend to give up after a week or so … I don’t think I’ve ever written anything in there that’s usable. It’s absolute drivel and feels counterproductive. Can you share how it has helped you?

    Also, I think that doing other creative activities feeds the writing (and vice versa). If I’m stuck on something, there’s always housework to do, but it’s even better if I can go for a walk or play the piano or cook … Maybe this is why writing fits so well with raising kids (they take up an awful lot of creative energy 😉 Almost all of my stories for little kids reflect our life with them — cooking, gardening, laundry,crafts. Now that they are older, they’re giving me even more material and they know they’d better watch it because I might put them in a book 🙂

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      Vijaya, think my answers would be too long for here; I’ll PM you on the BB as soon as I have a chance.

      In the meantime, for anybody who doesn’t know what “Morning Pages” refers to, see The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. On the website, Morning Pages are explained under the tab entitled The Artist’s Way Tools.

      Like

  9. BEAUTIFUL!! Thanks so much for sharing this =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

