Booked for Christmas

On Christmas afternoon I looked around the living room and noticed that both sons and I were doing the same thing: poring over books that somebody else had received for Christmas.

Made perfect sense, because we have the rest of our lives to read the books we received, but Older Son would be hauling his books back to Our Nation’s Capital in a few days, and we had only a limited opportunity to check out his, and vv.

Warmed the cockles of me heart, it did.

© 2011 Anne Bingham and Making It Up as I Go

This entry was posted in Seasonal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Booked for Christmas

  1. Aww. My kids are still at home, and therefore, still fighting over books! “You can read it when he’s done,” gets me crossed arms and the Stare of Death.

    Like

  2. Mirka Breen says:

    For all the admonitions that ‘kids don’t read,’ there are the families like yours that fight over books. I’m glad to be of your tribe.

    Like

  3. A lovely sight, indeed, all of you pouring over each others books. A perfect Christmas, I’d say. The only other thing to make this holiday time even better would be a pot of homemade soup ::clears throat::

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      eek! Thanks for the reminder, Andrea! The stock is still simmering and it has been almost 3 hours! (The good news: it will be highly concentrated and not take up that much room in the freezer.)

      Like

  4. But WHAT books? Inquiring minds must know!!

    Like

  5. MaryWitzl says:

    By Christmas Day, my kids had both read the two books I got for Christmas and my husband had finished one, and throughout the holiday, I kept interrupting people with their noses in books. There’s nothing like a pile of unread books to fill me with joy — it’s like a healthy bank account.

    Like

Leave a Reply

