Roll Playing

From-scratch, yeast-raised, shaped by hand, and absolutely mandatory for Thanksgiving Dinner Up North with The Much Honoured The Lady of Reay and family.

This batch originally consisted of 17 rolls but a certain amount of quality control was involved. (It was a sacrifice, but somebody had to do it.)

The recipe’s right out of the KitchenAid mixer book (60 Minute Dinner Rolls) except that I now mix the dough in the bread machine instead of the mixer. So far nobody’s complained.

© 2011 Anne Bingham and Making It Up as I Go

This entry was posted in Notes from the Neighborhood, Seasonal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Roll Playing

  1. Tim Eisele says:

    They look delicious! I should make some when I get home tonight.

    Like

  2. Sue Knopf says:

    Those are extremely cute. By quality control I assume you mean taste-testing.

    Like

  3. Mirka Breen says:

    C’mon over and bring those rolls!

    Like

  4. ::inhale:: Ahhh… They look like they smell delicious… Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Anne!

    Like

  5. Anne M Leone says:

    Mmmm… I know this is hypocrisy, but the homemade dinner rolls are one of MY favorite parts of Thanksgiving! Carbs FTW! 😉

    Like

  6. Marcia says:

    Those look great.

    Like

  7. Yummmm, nothing like home baked bread and rolls!

    Like

  8. My store-bought frozen dough rolls bow their yeasty heads in shame!

    Like

  9. MaryWitzl says:

    I used to bake my own bread every day, one wholemeal loaf and one white, liberally fortified with oatmeal. Now I barely have time to buy it, but I still long for that wonderful yeasty smell. Do you brush egg yolk and water over them or glaze them with butter? sigh…

    Like

Leave a Reply

