Rustlers Nab My Peanut Crop

Last summer I was weeding a neglected part of the garden when I spotted a plant that looked like either wild indigo or sweet pea. I thought I’d let it grow in place until I could identify it, but later that day I accidentally uprooted it while pulling out a clump of something else.

Imagine my surprise when I found a peanut shell tangled in the root system. In fact, the shell was the root of the root system! Someone had evidently fed raw unshelled peanuts to a neighborhood squirrel, who had buried one in the gravelly soil beside our driveway.

I potted it immediately, and after a few weeks it began to grow nicely.

Peanut, growing nicely in August.

I had plans for networking with other potted peanut growers. I envisioned a small but tasty harvest, carefully roasted.

Then came the day last week that frost was predicted, so I began to move the houseplants from their summer homes on porch and picnic table.

I noticed that the peanut wasn’t looking so good.

Peanut, not looking so good in November.

I’d like to think my peanut crop was harvested by the same critter who planted it in the first place, but I wonder. The price of peanut butter has jumped 30% in the past week due to a refinery problem… No, wait. That’s the excuse the oil companies give for price hikes.

The spike in peanut butter price is due to a poor harvest.

So I’m thinking: if the economy’s so bad that copper rustlers steal gutters from occupied houses and strip the wiring out of vacant ones, can peanut rustlers be far behind?

© 2011 Anne Bingham and Making It Up as I Go

This entry was posted in Indoor Gardening, Notes from the Neighborhood, Seasonal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rustlers Nab My Peanut Crop

  1. Mike Starr says:

    I’ve got an alibi.

    Like

  2. Don’t tell anyone I said this, but I’d check out Mr. Salty if I were you. I hear he’s had tough times in this economy and it has made him go a little nutty. (but you didn’t hear it from me.)

    Like

  3. Mirka Breen says:

    I didn’t do it, but I feel guilty anyway.

    Like

  4. Marcia says:

    Hmmmm — who stole the peanut plant, and why? There’s gotta be a story in there.

    Like

  5. MaryWitzl says:

    Mice eat our daffodil bulbs: I’ve caught the little rascals at it. Maybe I’ll ‘plant’ some peanuts over them.

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      Around here, daffodils are known as the only truly deer- and squirrel- resistant tulip. Mice are not so much of a problem because they have bird feeder debris to snack on. Peter did spot one on a basement rafter last week, but it was a brown mouse, though, not gray (brown = field mouse = probably just passing through, as opposed to a gray house mouse).

      Like

Leave a Reply

