The $$$ Authors Don’t Earn

Literary agent and author Mandy Hubbard (Prada & Prejudice, You Wish) just blogged the stats every would-be novelist needs to read before quitting the day job.

Read it and weep. http://mandyhubbard.livejournal.com/249542.html.

And then dry your eyes and go back to work on your book, because for sure it won’t get published if you don’t finish it. And finish it again. And again. And again.

© 2011 Anne Bingham and Making It Up as I Go

This entry was posted in The Writing Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The $$$ Authors Don’t Earn

  1. Thanks for the link! How hard it is to hear/read things like that but it makes the success after the struggle that much sweeter.

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      I’m so glad she made this post. It was oddly reassuring. I put it up on the blog’s Resources for Writers page, too, so I can easily refer to it from time to time.

      Like

  2. I loved Mandy’s post. It was just so honest and straightforward. I personally HATE talking about the money part of publishing, so it’ll be nice to just have that post to refer people to. 🙂

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      Makes you want to print out the URL of Mandy’s post on little business-sized cards so you can pass them out to the clueless, doesn’t it?

      Although I’m learning that industry-stereotyping isn’t confined to writers. I used to think all attorneys made bundles of money, but I know personally of three cases where the families are (or have been) on the brink of living in their cars because when the clients don’t pay, or are slow to pay, the money for the office rent and utilities, not to mention the receptionist and paralegals, comes from the family savings or a second mortgage.

      Like

  3. MaryWitzl says:

    I haven’t read Mandy’s post. I know what it’s about and I can guess it’s not going to cheer me up. When I first saw it on Twitter, I felt like sticking my fingers in my ears, squeezing my eyes shut, and going “La-la-la-la-la!”

    But I’m going to go back and read it anyway. Because you’ve mentioned it here, and because nothing will make me not want to write, damn it. I’m masochistic like that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

