Words I Wish I’d Written

I just finished reading The Freak Observer, a darkish YA novel by Blythe Woolston, and came across the single most evocative sentence I have read, in any novel for any age group, in years and years and YEARS.

The main character is in a ceramics studio, watching a secondary character throw a pot. When the artist has shaped the pot, it’s time to remove it from the wheel, which he accomplishes slicing it off with a thin wire, as carefully as if “it is the nest that holds the last hummingbird eggs in the world.”

Sigh. I wish I’d written that.

© 2011 Anne Bingham and Making It Up as I Go

This entry was posted in The Writing Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Words I Wish I’d Written

  1. Sigh is right. You and me, both. Takes your breath away, doesn’t it?

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      I took a ceramics course through the rec department one autumn a long, long time ago. Nothing I tried on the wheel came close to being worth firing, but it gave me an appreciation for the skill involved.

      Like

  2. Anne M Leone says:

    Oh, that IS beautiful. Need to get my hands on that book, it’s been on my list for a while!

    Like

  3. MaryWitzl says:

    The Freak Observer is a fine book and that’s a beautiful description, isn’t it? (And quite apart from that, I used to do ceramics, and that is exactly the way you remove a just-thrown pot from the clay you’re throwing from — it’s so easy to mess up the shape when the clay is still soft and malleable.)

    Like

  4. When I read the sentence I went oooooh. Like you, wish I’d written that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

