When Calendars Go Wrong

2011 promises to be an interesting year.

This morning I opened the big refrigerator calendar I’d ordered from Amazon and started to enter known 2011 events: recycling and yard waste pick-up dates, weekends I lector at church, family birthdays, dentist appointments, etc.

Everything went fine until I finished with September and turned the page.

Apparently there will be no October  in 2011. Instead, we are having two Septembers, followed by November and December.

By an extraordinary coincidence, not 30 minutes later Amazon Marketplace emailed an invitation to “share my experience” by rating my client transaction.

I chose to “Contact the Seller” in lieu of leaving scathing feedback, because sometimes things just happen. It probably was just a misfeed at the printer, not (as it briefly seemed) some diabolical plot to complicate my life. I expect the seller will do the right thing and send me a correctly configured replacement in good time.

In the meantime, it’s interesting to think that there are several other dual-September calendars out there from the same print run, and an equal number that jump from August right into October.

Gives a whole new meaning to the phrase, “Check your calendar,” doesn’t it?

© 2010 Anne Bingham and Making It Up as I Go

This entry was posted in Seasonal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to When Calendars Go Wrong

  1. Anne M Leone says:

    Hah! And the poor miserable saps like me, who aren’t nearly organized enough to fill out their 2011 calendars ahead of time, will finish September, start another September, and probably only notice when they start getting totally confused! =)

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      I thought of that, too, Anne! The city sends out a mini-calendar with important dates noted, and it was only a disconnect between the positions of the date for the first leaf rake-out that alerted me. Otherwise I doubt I would have looked at the wording at the top of the page on the refrigerator calendar.

      Like

  2. No October? That means no Halloween. We’ll miss National Pizza Month. And Captain Kangaroo Day, Dictionary Day, the anniversaries of the Guggenheim Museum opening and the first broadcast of American Bandstand. And let us not forget Moldy Cheese Day. What do you mean no October?!?

    Like

  3. Pingback: Christmas? Already?

  4. Oh, gosh, that would be so disappointing to be in the middle of filling out everything you need to do and discover you have to do it all again. I haven’t checked my new one sent as a gift from my insurance agent. I always assume everything is going to be fine. When I sit down next week to make out the new one, I’ll check it out before writing anything down.

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      I’m happy to report that the company sent me a new one, with all 12 months in the correct order, so all I’m out is a few stickers (green leafy things for the yard-waste recycling days). But like you, I’ll never blithely fill out another calendar without double-checking first!

      Like

  5. MaryWitzl says:

    Good think you checked! I can’t even begin to imagine how confused I’d have been once I got through September and found that I had to go through it all over again. I’d have been really worried about myself.

    I got a desktop day-to-day calendar of Eats, Shoots & Leaves for Christmas. It’s so exciting: my birth month is all about the comma.

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      Younger Son just came home with a page-a-day calendar from the Car Talk guys (funny public radio show diagnosing auto problems — probably not available where you are but you might be able to listen to it online!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

