O, the Weather Outside is…

We’re having our first winter storm, but as often happens, Harwood is missing the worst of it.

Just 10 miles to the north and to the west, the winds are howling and the snow is blocking major highways and everything is canceled. Virtual Brother-in-Law Steve got caught on the way home from Ripon after dropping off Virtual Nephew Trevor at a state forensics tournament, and ended up spending the night in Fond du Lac.

In other words: It’s Wisconsin. The weather’s supposed to be like this.

And yet, in my immediate neighborhood, there’s not enough snow to cover the sidewalks. The walks and roads are sketchy because while everybody else was having snow a-plenty, we were having rain, which now is a fine glaze of ice on the roads and sidewalks, but it’s not the blizzard the rest of the Upper Midwest is enjoying.

This happens a lot. Time after time I’ve watched a humongous thunderstorm or major winter snow head right for Harwood, only to fall apart at the intersection of I-94 and Highway 45.

Although the joke is that we’re zoned against tornadoes, I’ve always suspected the reason the big stuff bypasses us is pushback from the (usually warmer) air over Lake Michigan 7 miles to the east, plus heat from all the pavement in the shopping areas west of us.

Last week, however, Younger Son found an alternate explanation here.

© 2010 Anne Bingham and Making It Up as I Go

This entry was posted in Notes from the Neighborhood, Seasonal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to O, the Weather Outside is…

  1. Tim Eisele says:

    It sounds like your relationship to the weather forecasts is a lot like ours: major storms that are *predicted* to hit us tend to be fizzles, while the ones that dump feet of snow with high winds generally blow up out of nowhere. The weather service is pretty good at predicting routine weather, but the unusual excursions seem to give the forecasters a lot of trouble.

    And the problem with that, is that it is the excursions that we all care most about.

    Incidentally, I see that your blog is experiencing some snowfall. Nice.

    Like

  2. MaryWitzl says:

    The weather has been horrendous here — we must have had YOUR weather delivered by mistake! I’ve had ice half an inch thick inside the house, in flower vases. And all my poor freesias went and froze and I didn’t even notice until too late. (Many awful puns have been made here about the way ‘freesia’ is pronounced and what happened to them. It’s so cruel.)

    We had several inches of snow on the ground for weeks here, and it did not melt — unprecedented for this time of year. One good thing is that I now know what was and what wasn’t hardy in my garden. Sigh.

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      Mary, you have completely cured me of my dream of moving to the UK after I become a best-selling novelist. I understand about houses being built before central heating, and there are multiple novels written that include scenes about people having to break the ice in the basin before they could wash their faces in the morning, but I thought surely those problems would have been taken care of by now with portable electric radiators, insulated draperies, etc. Evidently not! I was feeling wimpish just reading that, but then I remembered that I had just returned from walking to the library this evening and it was 10F when I started, and 9 when I returned, plus the sidewalks are sheets of ice from the pre-freeze rain. I went because while the ice remains, I’m sure-footed because I have elastic traction thingies that slip over the soles of my boots like tire chains. Have to take them off before I go into a building, however, or I’ll tear up the floor!

      Like

Leave a Reply

