City on the Bed

This week Younger Son and I took the old Fisher-Price playsets out of the closet in his room and put them all in one very large box left over from when we moved to his house 18 years ago and the playsets were, many of them, brand new.

“You’re still keeping those?” asked Virtual Sister, who stopped in for a cup of tea on Friday.

Yes! I have vivid memories of when each of those playsets was first acquired: the gas station/mini mart with the car wash and tow truck, the parking garage, with a ramp to the second story and an actual elevator, the downtown street with the Post Office (the door had a slot t0 mail a large plastic “envelope”) and a grocery with no-armed white-haired grocer in a long apron who looked a lot like Mr. Reed from the corner store where we walked to buy sugar cookies studded with M&Ms.

Each of those playsets was key to one of the everybody’s favorite activities: City on the Bed, when all the playsets would be arranged like a town and vehicles would go racing from one building to another to rescue little armless people from disaster (there were always wrecks, or robberies, or plane crashes).

The playsets always survived. I’m convinced Fisher-Price plastic was a byproduct of the space program.

Yup. I’m hanging on to them.

© 2010 Anne Bingham and Making It Up as I Go

This entry was posted in Notes from the Neighborhood, The Examined Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to City on the Bed

  1. I don’t blame you. It’s amazing how simple little things bring back such wonderful and warm memories. I still have my very first bottle of nail polish. Clear with a pink tint. I saved it because my dad took me to the store and helped me buy it. I remember putting it in my keepsake box to save when it was half full. I’m so glad I did. When I hold that bottle, that special day is vivid.

    Like

  2. Terri says:

    All or most of our old Fisher-Price toys have been getting a wonderful workout this week, as four of our grandsons, aged 2.5-6 are visiting and have used them very creatively with their monster trucks! So glad I saved them…Lego toys, as well.

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      We have lots of Legos in the attic, many of them still assembled into structures. One of these days I really must talk the owners into disassembling them and freeing up another cubic meter of space!

      Like

  3. Susan says:

    I LOVE those playsets. I wish I still had the little house my sisters and I spent hours and hours playing with. We had a barn too. Good memories!

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      Did it have little yellow chairs for the little armless peg-people to sit in? And a round dining room table? I don’t think there was any other furniture; this was a resale shop find and didn’t have much in the way of accessories.

      Like

      • Margaret Pfarr says:

        I was given several Fisher-Price toys when my oldest child was a toddler, hand-me-downs from her older cousin. We now use the dollhouse, garage, barn, school bus and airplane with all the little people, plastic and wooden, for our grandchildren – all 9 of them! They love them as much as my children did! And I secretly love them, too!

        Like

        • Anne Bingham says:

          Hi, Margaret! Thanks for stopping by. I’d forgotten that the airplane was a Fisher-Price plane. I believe it starred in Jim’s production of Godfather IV, which you really need to see one of these visits!

          Like

  4. Anne M Leone says:

    Ah, the yellow armless peg people! =)

    Also stopped by to let you know there’s an award for you on my blog.

    Like

  5. MaryWitzl says:

    Aww…I almost wish I hadn’t read this!

    We’ve got chests of drawers filled with stuffed animals upstairs, a tea chest crammed with baby clothes that I can’t bring myself to part with, and any number of sweet-faced dolls with ruined hair, loved to bits, utterly worthless, and infinitely dear. They all take up space and I know we’ll have to get rid of some of them, but not yet. It’s always ‘not yet’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

