Red, Light, and Bluebells

Wolsey and Claudia dining out, May 2, 2010

A few weeks ago Catherine Winn said she wanted to see a photo of our bird feeder, so here’s the one where the cardinals hang out. The lower dome came with the feeder and is adjustable to admit some birds but not others; I have it set to exclude anything larger than a cardinal (I’m talking to you, Mourning Doves).

The upper dome is an add-on to keep the squirrels away, and it does a great job.

The flowers at the foot of the tree are Virginia bluebells, which were particularly gorgeous from early April until about 10 days ago.

© 2010 Anne Bingham and Making It Up as I Go

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : post to facebook

This entry was posted in Notes from the Neighborhood, Seasonal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Red, Light, and Bluebells

  1. Just beautiful! I’ve used the upper dome for squirrels and found it worked fine. The domes keep the food dry, too.

    Like

  2. Susan says:

    Beautiful pic! I love the bluebells.

    We have a pair of cardinals who come calling now & again, but mostly we get mourning doves, grackles, mockingbirds, & finches. They’re all noisy!!

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      I wouldn’t mind the mourning doves so much if they didn’t use the birdbath as a full service restroom, which led me to suspect they did the same thing in the safflower/black oil sunflower mix! I love the bluebells, too; in fact, I have a close-up of them on my desktop, although I’ll probably be changing it to Siberian iris in a couple of days. This time of year it’s hard to keep up with everything that’s coming into bloom!

      Like

  3. MaryWitzl says:

    I am sick with envy that you have cardinals!

    When we traveled through the States, we counted every single cardinal we saw and noted the states we found them in. I think the final tally was 14, and Kentucky was the winner. I’m thinking that Wisconsin might have given Kentucky some competition now.

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      Something about a cardinal against the green grass or the white snow must triggers endorphins. Guess it’s no accident that the cardinal is the state bird in so many places!

      Like

Leave a Reply

