After the Snow

We’re completing the third month of full snow cover in my part of Wisconsin. Due to a brief rain in January followed by another dip below 32ºF, I no longer need to snowshoe out to refill the bird feeder; the foot of snow we’ve had since Christmas has turned into a pack of nicely textured ice. Along with a lot of the eastern prairie states, we experienced another storm on Sunday; when it ended Monday morning, this is what my street looked like. I’m glad I was there to see it, and glad that after only three hours of trying, I was able to upload a photo to share! [Hint: In some browsers you can enlarge the photo by clicking on it, a little trick I discovered while looking at the pretty winter flowers in The Hot Pink Bike Route blog.]

© 2010 by Anne Bingham and Making It Up as I Go
This entry was posted in Notes from the Neighborhood, Seasonal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to After the Snow

  1. Beautiful picture, looks wonderful to those of us in a non-snowing area! Although today the weatherman did say we just might see some snow flurries. I doubt that will happen. It’s usually something saved for the hill country.

    Keep those pictures coming, would love to see your bird feeder!

    Like

  2. Anne Bingham says:

    Thanks, Catherine. I’ve tried to take a good bird-feeder photo, but have ended up deleting most of them. Either they’re blurry (because by the time I get out the tripod, the birds have flown) or because my camera is five years old and still has shutter lag, shows where the birds used to be.

    I understand now why a lot of bird-supply catalogues and websites use artificial birds in their pictures!

    Like

  3. kamikinard says:

    Hi Anne,

    This is the first time I’ve been led to your site by clicking on your URL from my blog. You don’t have flowers, but the snow scene is just as beautiful!

    Kami

    Like

  4. Z says:

    Okay, next winter our blogs will have to go mano y mano with winter street shots…we have a canopy of chestnuts–what are yours?

    Z

    Like

  5. Anne Bingham says:

    One surviving elm (not in the photo) and what replaced the rest of the elms a long, long time ago: ash, linden, flowering crabapple, Norway maple.

    Like

  6. Fabulous photo even though I’m ready for spring. We’ve certainly had a real winter this year. Nice to visit your blog.

    Like

  7. Susan says:

    Wow, that is really, really beautiful. Not something I EVER see down here in South Texas. I must say though that I prefer looking at the photo than experiencing it. I can’t handle cold at all and am utterly miserable today because we’re in the upper 30’s.
    Thanks for sharing. I’m glad you took the three hours of time to upload it!

    Like

  8. We’re finally getting some snow here. And it’s beautiful outside!

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      Here, too, Laura. Three inches of new light and very fluffy in the driveway, but four blocks away at the coffee shop, it’s not even accumulating. Silly microclimates!

      [Updated to add: I spoke too soon. The next time I looked up, the snow had started to stick in the parking lot and by the time I left, I had to clear 3 inches off the car.]

      Thanks for stopping by Alison and Susan!

      Like

  9. MaryWitzl says:

    When I see what you have to deal with, I feel so ashamed of whining about how cold it is here (15C — 59 F), but then the houses here aren’t built to cope with cold. I’m wearing two sweaters, a fleece, leg warmers (on both arms and legs — I’m a serious wimp); I’ve got our propane heater on, and I’m STILL cold.

    I want to go back to Scotland!

    Like

  10. Karin says:

    I’m out in AZ…so that looks so wonderful!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

