Made for Each Other

Conversation overheard today in a coffee shop I will call Stubbs, where I go when the walls start to close in on me at home:

Man at the next table, 25–30, skinny 1950s build, sharp lean face that reminds me of a young Joel Grey, staring at the far wall. His pants are Fifties skinny, too, but that’s not what catches my eye: it’s his hat. It has a very short crown and a very narrow brim, and reminds me of nothing so much as the pork pie hats you see on vaudeville comics in old movies, except that this hat appears to be made of black patent leather and the man underneath is not Red Skelton.

[Aside: I looked it up. The pork pie hat apparently is a new Bold Fashion Statement. This is not something we’re used to at this Stubbs. The regulars are mostly med students, who dress like med students, and salesmen/independent contractors who dress like grown-ups with mortgages. You expect Bold Fashion Statements on the Fashionable East Side or in the Trendy Third Ward, but not here. This Stubbs is more cozy than cutting edge. It even has a fireplace.]

I open my laptop. A minute or so later, I hear a taptaptaptaptap. Hat Guy’s leather-booted foot is expressing itself on the tile, and what it’s expressing is more than caffeine jitters.

Minutes pass. I try to get into the scene I’m working on.  Then:

“I am at Stubbs. [pause] I am at Stubbs. [longer pause] I am at Stubbs. [pause] I am at Stubbs. [much, much longer pause] I am at Stubbs.”

Snap! goes his cell phone. At least he was talking to someone real and not just voices in his head.

A few minutes later, in walks a 20-something woman in a very red leather jacket, high sheepskin boots that I suspect are not knockoffs, and turquoise velveteen jeans as skinny as Hat Guy’s pants. She piles her shopping bags on his table without a word and snaps open her phone. She has a brief conversation that I completely miss because I am lusting after the jacket and jeans. She snaps her phone shut and turns to Hat Guy.

“All right, let’s go. [brief pause] All right, let’s go.” [punctuation and spelling mine; I’m sure she spells it alright.]

Nothing happens.

“All right, let’s go.”

“You just put your stuff down,” he points out.

“All right, let’s go,” she says, not missing a beat. “All right, let’s go.”

And so they gather up her bags and walk out the door.

I don’t get much done the rest of the afternoon. I’m having too much fun speculating about what else they might have to say to each other. And how many times.

© 2010 Anne Bingham and Making It Up as I Go

This entry was posted in The Writing Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Made for Each Other

  1. Anna says:

    Ha, wow! I wonder if that woman has any other catch phrases, or if that’s the extent of her vocabulary. Not necessarily people I’d want to hang out with, but it is fascinating to imagine what the rest of their lives might be like.

    Like

  2. Hi Anne, Thanks for the message on the blue boards. I don’t think I can direct message yet. I’ll have to google adding the contact form that goes directly to the email. I’ll ask for you help if I can’t figure it out. Thanks! Laura

    Like

  3. Loved the article! Just wanted to mention that I like the way you described both of them. I could “see” them and get a sense of their characters.

    Like

  4. Joel Habush says:

    I’m impressed with your blogsite. When you mentioned the pork pie hats, I immediately thought of Gene Hackman in “The French Connection;” so I googled “pork pie hats popeye doyle,” and at the top was this link: http://www.baronhats.com/pd.htm. You were right about the hats being back in fashion—this place even has a a “Popeye Doyle” model for sale.

    Like

  5. MaryWitzl says:

    (Wiping tears of amusement from eyes) Sigh…I’m so glad you started a blog!

    I’d be over here a lot more often, but our electricity keeps going out. We’ve had half a dozen power cuts lately and ALWAYS when it’s my turn to get the internet.

    Like

    • Anne Bingham says:

      Somebody ought to develop an emergency router one can crank to keep the internet going during blackouts, like those emergency radios and flashlights you see advertised in travel catalogues. The Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me got one of those cranky flashlights as swag from his moonlighting job and it’s pretty nifty.

      Like

Leave a Reply

